Home / News / ‘Gurgaon’ will now be known as ‘Gurugram’

‘Gurgaon’ will now be known as ‘Gurugram’

Most of you must be aware of the fact that ‘Gurgaon’ has been renamed as ‘Gurugram’ on 12 April, 2016 (Tuesday). There have been mixed opinions about this name change of Gurgaon district. This decision of renaming Gurgaon was taken by Manohar Lal Khattar, the Chief Minister of Haryana State keeping in mind the demands by people of the area. According to an official spokesman the decision to change name of Gurgaon to Gurugram is a result of several discussions.

From Gurgaon to Gurugram

According to the Official Website of Gurgaon district, in ancient times Gurgaon was known as Guru-gram, and as the name passed by Gugu-gram became Gurgaon.

The Official Website of Gurgaon District states that – “Gurgaon district derived its name from the name of Guru Dronacharya; the village was given as gurudakshina to him by his students, the Pandavas, and hence it came to be known as Guru-gram, which in course of time got distorted to Gurgaon. Thus, the district has been existence since the times of Mahabharata,”.

Gurgaon to Gurugram

Parminder Kataria, a BJP politician and deputy mayor of the Gurgaon Municipal Corporation moved a resolution in the corporation on 6 August, 2014, with the proposal of name change from Gurgaon to Gurugram. Kataria said that he has worked for almost 10 years to see this day. The progress was quite slow initially. Kataria also said that he had to walk from colony to colony to explain the history behind Gurugram to people. Once the people understood the history behind the name they supported him.

From Gurgaon to Gurugram

Ever since Gurgaon has been renamed as Gurugram, over 1,000 new website domains have been registered with the word ‘Gurugram’. Within 1 hour of announcement of the new name of Gurgaon, the domain registration with ‘Gurugram’ as a choice name went up to 58. Within 24 hours of the announcement, a total of 90 domains were registered with ‘Gurugram’ as a choice name.

It is still not clear if the decision will also take affect for the name of ‘Gurgaon city’, which is now a popular face of rapidly growing India.

Gurgaon New Name - Gurugram

As a matter of fact, Gurgaon district is divided into 3 sub-divisions, namely Gurgaon North, Gurgaon South and Pataudi. These are are further divided into 5 tehsils – Gurgaon, Sohna, Pataudi, Farukh Nagar & Manesar. It also consists 4 blocks, namely Pataudi, Sohna, Gurgaon and Farrukhnagar.

The Haryana government also decided to change the name of Mewat district to Nuh. Mewat is a geographical and cultural unit and not a town. Mewat is widely spread beyond Haryana in the neighboring states of Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan.

You may also like to Read : 

About Anirudh Singh

Anirudh Singh is a passionate blogger and the man behind Amazing India Blog. He has 5 years of experience in the newspaper industry and he founded Amazing India Blog in 2015. Apart from writing and editing articles on Travel, Business and Technology at Amazing India Blog, he also contributes to other well known newspapers and online news blogs.